Withrow CTO Award

The winner will be announced at the CoSN Annual Conference in April.

CoSN’s Withrow CTO Award recognizes an exceptional district CTO who serves as a true technology champion and whose leadership has been transformative for his school system. The award honors Frank Withrow, a pioneer and champion of K-12 education technology. Thanks to SchoolDude for sponsoring the Withrow Award!


Chief Technology Officers (or equivalent) from all types of schools—public, charter, private, parochial, or independent—are eligible for the Withrow CTO Award. Nominees do not have to be CoSN members. CoSN board members and their institutions are ineligible for CoSN awards.


CoSN’s Awards committee is reviewing all nominations and will notify the winner in January 2017. The winner will then be publicly honored at the CoSN Annual Conference. In addition to our congratulations, the winner will receive one complimentary conference registration, a $1,000 honorarium, and media coverage including a profile in Scholastic Administr@tor magazine.


The honoree is selected based on leadership, community-building initiatives, innovation inside and outside of the classroom, sizeable impact, and partnership development.

Past Winners

2015: Vincent Scheivert, Albemarle County Public Schools, VA

2014: Keith Bockwoldt, CETL, Township High School District 214, IL

2013: Ed McKaveney, CETL, Hampton Township School District, PA

2012: Harold Rowe, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, TX

2011: Tim Wilson, Osseo Area Schools, MN

2010: Jeanine Gendron, Broward County Public Schools, FL

2009: Greg Utecht, Lakeville Independent School District, MN

2007: Dr. Michael Burke, Edina Public Schools, MN

2006: Vijay Sonty, School Board of Broward County, FL

2005: Darryl LaGace, Lemon Grove School District, CA

2004: Dennis Bruno, Glendale School District, PA

2003: Rudy Castruita, San Diego County Office of Education, CA

2002: Herman Gaither, Beaufort County School District, SC

2001: Joe Kitchens, Western Heights School District, OK