Awards & Recognition

People clapping and smiling

We are fortunate to work with many exceptional leaders and districts, and every year we recognize several of them with our annual awards. Awards are given to individuals and teams who demonstrate outstanding vision in K-12 education technology. If you know a great leader, be sure to nominate him or her for the Withrow CTO Award, Team Award, or the new Community Leadership Award for Digital Equity. Self-nominations are also encouraged.


All award winners are recognized at CoSN’s Annual Conference and receive complimentary conference registrations, honoraria, and media coverage.

NextGeneration Leaders Program

We created the NextGeneration Leaders program to recognize and support emerging leaders in education technology. If you have been in the industry for no more than 5 years, this is the program for you!

Community Leadership Award for Digital Equity

This award was created to encourage and recognize those districts that are working to eliminate inequities and narrow the access gap. 

Digital Equity Student Video Challenge

This award was created to recognize student video submissions that successfully address student equity in their school system and how they are addressing these challenges.

Withrow CTO Award

This award recognizes an exceptional district CTO who serves as a technology champion and whose leadership has been transformative for his or her school system.

Team Award

The Team Award honors a district leadership team for its transformative impact on ed tech and its work to improve student learning.

Excellence in Public Service Award

This award recognizes an elected or appointed official for his or her achievements in advocacy and policy to promote the use of K-12 education technology.

Partnerships That Matter Award

Honoring partner organizations who work with CoSN in making a difference in transforming learning with technology.

Hurley Private Sector Champion Award

The Private Sector Champion award honors an individual from the private sector for outstanding service to the education technology community.

Volunteer of the Year Award

This award honors a volunteer who has provided exemplary support to CoSN in a volunteer capacity, including on our committees or state chapters. We also honor several of our volunteers with induction into the CoSN Volunteer Hall of Fame.

Seymour Papert Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes a CoSN member’s lifelong contribution to technology and education. The Lifetime Achievement Award will be granted only when a deserving member is identified by CoSN.