NextGen: Emerging EdTech Leaders Program

CoSN is committed to recognizing and supporting emerging leaders who are passionate about K-12 education technology and committed to taking their career to the next level. That is why we created the NextGen: Emerging EdTech Leaders Program.
The NextGen: Emerging EdTech Leaders Program was created, in partnership with, to identify and strengthen emerging technology leaders.


2019 Winners

Chanel Alford-Campbell, Technology Integration Specialist, Alexandria Public Schools, Virginia

Lindsey Blass, Personalized Learning Environments Program Manager, San Francisco Unified School District, California

Renee Hernandez, Digital Learning Coordinator, Allen Independent School District, Texas

Toni Hoehn, Director of Instructional Technology Initiative, Los Angeles Unified School District (Los Angeles, CA)

Allison Reid, Digital Curriculum Support Specialist, St. Vrain Valley School District, Colorado

See the recent feature in EdScoop.

Nominees should have no more than 5 working years as an education technology professional in a school system. While we encourage all to apply that meet the requirements, preference will go to leaders who are, or serve, underserved populations (i.e. women, minorities, small districts, rural districts, and inner-city urban school district). 
Award Winner Recognition
Successful candidates will receive a complimentary registration to CoSN 2020 in Washington, DC March 16-18. Travel expenses will be reimbursed based on CoSN policy. NextGen Leaders will be recognized at a plenary session, have opportunities to meet the CoSN Board and afford themselves the opportunity to attend sessions and network with edtech leaders.
Ongoing Involvement with CoSN
Successful candidates will be added to the NextGen: Emerging EdTech Leaders committee for a one-year commitment, where each member will be responsible for producing two blog posts for CoSN site, with a chance for syndication with partner organizations. The committee will also be integral to CoSN's focus on new resource creation and management, targeting all emerging edtech leaders.

2018 Leaders

  • Jon Gregori, Instructional Technology Specialist, Henrico County Public Schools (Henrico, VA)
  • Aubrey Harrison, Personalized Digital Learning Specialist, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (Charlotte, NC)
  • Yan Li, Director of Research and Analytics, Office of the CIO, Mississippi Department of Education (Jackson, MS)
  • Sophia Mendoza, Director of Instructional Technology Initiative, Los Angeles Unified School District (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Eddie Sawyer, Innovative Technology Solutions Coordinator, Vancouver Public Schools (Vancouver, WA)

Learn about the 2018 NextGen Leaders at EdScoop.

Honorees will be formally recognized at the CoSN’s Annual Conference in Washington, DC.

The NextGeneration Leaders program is co-sponsored by EdScoop and was created in 2016. EdScoop originally highlighted the program in their article, "Calling for NextGeneration school tech leader nominees." Please contact Jackie Niederman, Communications Manager for any inquiries.