Award for Excellence in Public Service

The Award for Excellence in Public Service recognizes a national, state, or local official for his work to promote the use of education technology to improve K-12 learning. Award winners’ work complements CoSN’s policy and advocacy efforts and helps ensure that education technology remains an important part of public dialogue.


All elected and appointed officials are eligible for recognition. Past winners have included Congressmen and Senators, officials of the U.S. Department of Education, and leaders from the Federal Communications Commission. The winner is selected each year by CoSN leadership and announced at the CoSN Annual Conference in April. There is no nominations process for this award.

Past Winners

2020: The Honorable Sen. Tom Udall (D-NM) and The Honorable Sen. Cory Gardner (R-CO)  

2019: The Honorable Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)

2018: Governor Steve Bullock (D-MT) and Governor Doug Ducey (R-AZ) 

2017: Tom Wheeler, Former Chairman, FCC 

2016: Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

2014: Jessica Rosenworcel, Commissioner, FCC

2013: Karen Cator, former Director of the Office of Educational Technology, US Department of Education

2012: Michael J. Copps, former Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Commissioner

2011: Congressman George Miller (D-CA)

2010: Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

2009: Congressman Edward Markey (D-MA)

2008: Senator Patty Murray (D-WA)

2007: Governor Edward G. Rendell (D-PA)

2006: Senator Olympia Snowe (R-ME)

2005: John Bailey (former Director, Office of Educational Technology, US Department of Education)

2004: House Speaker Rick Johnson (R-MI)

2003: Senator Patrick Leahy (VT)

2002: Senator John (Jay) D Rockefeller IV (D-WV)

2001: Governor Angus I. King (I-ME)

2000: Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)