Event Type: 
CTO Clinics

2015 New York CTO Clinic

Friday, April 24, 2015
598 Broad Hollow Road
Melville, NY 11747
Thanks to everyone who joined us for the second annual New York CTO Clinic. The event brought together leaders from around the state and the region to discuss pressing topics in education technology and featured keynote addresses on 1:1 computing and protecting student privacy.

view Program

Keynote Speaker: Mark Edwards
Mark Edwards, Ed.D., is considered a pioneer of 1:1 computing in public schools. He currently serves as superintendent of the Mooresville Graded School District (MGSD) in Mooresville, NC, and was named 2013 National Superintendent of the Year by the American Association of School Administrators. Previously, Dr. Edwards was superintendent of the Danville and Henrico, VA school districts. He was named 2013 North Carolina Superintendent of the Year, 2003 Harold W. McGraw Prize in Education recipient, 2001 Virginia Superintendent of the Year, and 2002 eSchool News Magazine’s Tech Savvy Superintendent. He has also served as the Dean of the University of Northern Alabama's College of Education. He is the author of Every Child, Every Day: A Digital Conversion Model for Student Achievement.



Sheryl R. Abshire, Ph.D.
As the Chief Technology Officer for the Calcasieu Parish Public Schools for eighteen years, Dr. Sheryl Abshire has served as a catalyst to initiate the integration of technology throughout the nation and internationally by providing leadership on numerous national, state, and district committees focusing on the role of technology and curriculum in changing educational practice. As a forty-one year veteran educator, she has worked as a school principal, K-5 teacher, a library/media specialist, a classroom teacher, and as a university professor. In 2010, she was appointed by the FCC to the USAC board representing the nation’s schools and libraries on E-rate matters. Sheryl was the 2013 recipient of the National Coalition for Technology in Education & Training's Community Builder Award for exemplary service in support of policies and practices designed to facilitate the effective integration of technology into teaching and learning across the nation’s education system. She is the current chair for the CoSN state affiliate LACTO and serves as a board member and past chair of CoSN – The Consortium for School Networking in Washington, DC. Dr. Abshire is the past president of the Louisiana ISTE affiliate – LACUE where she presently serves as the Vice President of Advocacy and Programs. 


Hotel and Travel: 
598 Broad Hollow Road
Melville, NY 11747